2019 HPCAI Volunteer Recognition Ceremony

Many hospice and palliative care organizations depend on the generous individuals who volunteer their time and energy to make sure patients have the best care. To recognize those individuals, HPCAI hosts an annual Volunteer Recognition Ceremony. This year's speaker is Diane Allen, a violinist and keynote speaker. With her violin in hand, Allen helps hospice professionals and family caregivers to prevent burnout and refuel. HPCAI hopes that organizations bring as many volunteers and staff as possible to the ceremony and lunch to not only give special recognition to a few outstanding volunteers but to also thank all of the wonderful volunteers that hospices count on each and every day.

Following the program, there will be an opportunity to share a special story about working with hospice patients. Stories can range up to five minutes. Those who would like to share a story should contact Tori Hanson at HPCAI. The program concludes with a pinning ceremony for the honored volunteers.

The HPCAI Volunteer Recognition Ceremony will be held September 20 at the Iowa Hospital Association in Des Moines. Click here to register.

2019 Honored Volunteers

Jenny Anderson, Hospice of Pella
Dennis Appelhons*, Hospice of the Midwest, Johnston
Janet Askew, Care Initiatives Hospice, Greenfield
Myrna Beeber, Care Initiatives Hospice, Panora
Ann Beetner, UnityPoint Hospice, Des Moines
Sue Bigwood, MercyOne HomeCare and Hospice, Clinton
Frances and Robert Brunkan, Hospice of Dubuque
Pam Carpenter, Cherokee Regional Medical Center Hospice
Shirley Cline, UnityPoint Hospice, Fort Dodge
Lori Conway, Hospice of Siouxland, Sioux City
Jim Cross, UnityPoint Hospice, Waterloo
Ginny Dowell, Care Initiatives Hospice, Cedar Rapids
Mary Eakins, Hospice Serving Davis & Wapello Counties, Ottumwa
Jane Eggers Frericks and Loran Frericks, Iowa River Hospice, Marshalltown
Cindy Eggley*, Care Initiatives Hospice, Johnston
Jennie Evans, St. Croix Hospice, Council Bluffs
Janet Fitzgibbon, Great River Hospice House, West Burlington
Phyllis Foland, EveryStep Hospice, Osceola
Mary Fortin, Great River Hospice, West Burlington
Kim Gilbert, Hospice of the Heartland, Algona
Wendy Heck, Hospice of Washington County
Bonnie Helms, St. Croix Hospice, Council Bluffs
Morgan Hendryz, Care Initiatives Hospice, Cedar Falls
Nancy Jantzon, VNA Hospice of Southwest Iowa, Council Bluffs
Marty and Pete* Karzmarzcyk, Lee County Health Department Hospice, Fort Madison
Beth Kehrberg, Hospice of Siouxland, Sioux City
Tracy Kelley, Myrtue Medical Center Hospice, Harlan
DeeDee Kennedy, Mercy Hospice, Des Moines
Nina Koedam, Sanford Sheldon Home Health and Hospice
Harlan Larson, Howard County Community Hospice, Cresco
Lois Loughren, Cedar Valley Hospice, Independence
Gretchen Marsh*, St. Croix Hospice, Panora
Diane Martin, EveryStep Hospice, Mount Pleasant
Tom McKee, Care Initiatives Hospice, Cedar Rapids
Tim Miller, Essence of Life Hospice, Amana
Sandy Oswald*, EveryStep Hospice, Mount Ayr
Grant Primus, Cedar Valley Hospice, Waverly
Barb and Jerry* Rice, Burgess Health Center, Onawa
LaRita Rose, Care Initiatives Hospice, Eldora
Judy Ross, MercyOne Homecare and Hospice, Clinton
Janet Schildroth, Cedar Valley Hospice, Grundy Center
Phyllis Schwaninger, EveryStep Hospice, Council Bluffs
Pam Shever, Care Initiatives Hospice, Sioux City
Janice Straight, Care Initiatives Hospice, Des Moines
Leon Tagart*, Hospice of the Midwest, Guthrie Center
Peg Vickers, St. Croix Hospice, Ankeny
Beth Wagner, Cedar Valley Hospice, Waterloo
Matt Warnke*, Lakes Regional Healthcare Hospice, Spirit Lake
Ron Weaver, Regional Medical Center Hospice, Manchester
Ann Wenck, St. Anthony Regional Hospice, Carroll
Debra Wesely, Cedar Valley Hospice, Waterloo
Sally Williams, Cedar Valley Hospice, Waverly
Linda Witthoft, Hospice of Washington County